Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for January 13th, 2013

{Joy Dare} Week 2 of 2013

Well, here is a glimpse of last week and how God blessed my life. I should have written a blog post today, but I rested instead.

I have been working on Ann Voskamp’s DVD “One Thousand Gifts” study that I am going to teach soon. I have read the book, but this study has deepened my search from joy and awakened me yet again to God’s Hand in my life, pushing me to count them and in turn deepening my trust in the only One that we really can count on.

I would love to hear how God has blessed your life this week? Are you looking for ways He blesses. Post in my comments a few of  your gifts so I can be encouraged by God’s Hand in your days!

1-7  3 graces from people you love:

#40 a sweet tear-filled conversation with a wise man that I called to wish a happy birthday, so cool that he was 6 months older than my own father. I love the wisdom that he willing shares with me. I am always the one blessed when I take the moments to visit with him.

#41 Freddo letting me buy three books for my Kindle

#42 Freddo helping me get the Christmas stuff down and put away

#43 timer

#44 water to drink

#45 energy and motivation…even if they came later today than I would have liked, by God’s grace I accomplished quite a bit today!

1-8 dusky light, surprising reflection, lovely shadow

#45 dusky light: seeing the sunset coloring the clouds as they float past my dining room window

#46 surprising reflection: the sun shining off a lake beautiful bright this morning as I was driving to town.

#47 lovely shadow: seeing God’s shadow in my husband as he loves me unconditionally and continuously offers me grace

#48 last piece of spinach casserole

#49 finding out that Mom has a lump that is suspicious, trusting God with whatever may come. Living with an open hand to God is always that best way, but often the most painful.

#50  roast, potatoes and carrots at Momma’s house

#51 getting to use my $200 in free money to buy some Blessings Unlimited products

#52 gorgeous sunset coloring wonderfully clouds all across the sky, not just in the west

1-9  a gift held, passed by and sat with:

#53 held: my nephew as we cuddled together in the chair to read a book

#54 passed by: stones that were given to a family that lost a wife and a mother back at Thanksgiving. Beautiful reminders in their garage of other’s love for this family and of my friend’s desire to have a memorial garden before she died.

#55 sat with: Freddo’s dad as we shared a meal together, and as we watched a show or two together

1-10  a gift sweet, sour and just right:

#56 sweet: finding my dad’s Lionel train in the top of a closet, oh the sweet memories that ensued as I pulled each car, the caboose, the engine, the controller and the railroad sign

#57 sour: sorting through memories and things of Dad’s, making us miss him even more, but it was good to get some reorganization done

#58 just right: time spent with my mom today, much needed moments of laughter and reflection, bonding at its best

#59 Freddo’s Fridays coming on Thursday’s

#60 seeing our boys (young men, actually) growing up and taking on the world, praying for them as they live their lives

#61 motivation bringing about much needed changes

#62 a yummy recipe remembered from my growing up days that my mom used to make for us

1-11 3 yellow gifts of fresh mercy:

#63 grated bowl of Felz Naptha to put in the laundry soap later today

#64 squash

#65 tape measure that belonged to my friend that recently passed away

#66 getting my hours in

#67 having just the right amount, God always takes care

#68 unexpected Fed Ex truck in the driveway

#69 fun new things from Blessings Unlimited that arrived a few days before I expected, Yahoo!!!

#70 so many things made right today

1-12 a gift above, below and beside:

#71 above: ceiling fans that distribute heat from the woodstove

#72 below: Chinese Checker game that is stored below the couch, Freddo and I playing it, reminding me of times I played with Dad

#73 beside: Freddo being by my side helping today with whatever I needed

#74 cup of hot cocoa shared with my man tonight

#75 a few windows cleaned

#76 moments in the evening to number my gifts from last year, eagerly awaiting having a total count of my gifts from 2012

#77 encouragement only a friend can bring

#78 going to bed with every detail in our home absolutely in order, what a marvelous feeling

1-13 3 things about yourself you are grateful for:

#79 inability to stay mad very long

#80 that I am redeemed by the blood of my Savior

#81 resourcefulness

#82 a full day at home with nothing to do but rest and enjoy time with my husband

#83 waking from a nap to a delicious Rueben sandwich and fries Freddo made for us

#84 son working through tough things, knowing that despite what comes, he will get through it with God’s help

Read Full Post »